History of THS
We’ve been in Sheen for more than 80 years, with generations of boys passing through our doors. Our alumni evenings are well attended, with friendships formed in the school lasting, more often than not, for life.
The School was founded in September 1931 with 3 boys. Tower House was previously a School of Music.
First Head: (1931 – 1955) George Frederick Edwards B.A. (Lond). Building on 20 years’ experience as Assistant Master in Preparatory Schools including Senior Master at Holyrood School, Bognor Regis. (Died 28 April 1956)
3 July 1954 – Went into partnership with John Forrest Martin-Hurst (originally of 339 Putney Bridge Road, Putney, London SW15 and later lived opposite the school in Sheen Lane). Mr Martin Hurst (modern languages degree from Oxford) joined the staff in September 1953 as Senior Master with 20 years’ experience of teaching French. He succeeded Mr Edwards as Headmaster and Proprietor in 1955 when he bought the freehold.
Antony J. Beale joined Tower House in 1958, went to do a 3 year degree in East Anglia University and returned to Tower House as Associate Head in Summer 1963.
Tony eventually became headmaster and sole owner of the school. Before he retired he set up a Charitable Trust to ensure the future of the School.
Headships passed to:
- James Wall
- Jacqueline Compton-Howlett
- Gregory Evans